Thickening Shell

Safe inside my bold cocoon,
I knit from Memory’s tendrils.
All this time I’ve stood alone,
carrying duffle bags of broken forks,
gathering nails from beneath my feet,
and painting the walls a dark maroon.

Concrete crumbles against my shole,
I brace with a glass of discomfort.
So long it’s been with my back broken,
listening to silver tongues spit poison,
bruising from adrenaline’s jittery fists,
and tethering my heart to a lump of coal.

Darkest hours build thickest layers,
I harden my soul sip by sip.
The time has come to stand up again,
Coiling threats into tin clumps,
Fortifying my shell with an impasse,
and allowing myself to forget all cares.

One thought on “Thickening Shell

  1. Hello, my name is Gregory Thomas, I’m a writer and poet, and post my work on my blog at “Cascadialegends.wordpress.com” I just wanted to thank you for liking one of my stories on my blog. thank you very much! I don’t possess the know how, or money to make a book out of my work, if perhaps you know anybody that could help me, please do let me know, also thanks again. It’s my passion to make people smile through my writing, I wish you the best of luck as well

    -sincerely,

    Gregory Thomas

    Like

Thoughts? Ideas? Say hello...

